How to do the SC right in Sophia?

Hello guys,

I’m quite new to æternity blockchain and functional programming. I have some experience with imperative languages like C, JavaScript etc. Still, I decided to try Sophia and I’m stuck.

My goal is to write the contact that similar to this one written in Solidity:

pragma solidity ^0.4.25;

contract CryptoZombie {

event NewZombie(uint hamsterId, string name, uint dna);

uint dnaDigits = 16;
    uint dnaModulus = 10 ** dnaDigits;

struct Zombie {
        string name;
        uint dna;
    }

Zombie[] public zombies;

function _createZombie(string _name, uint _dna) private {
        uint id = hamsters.push(Hamster(_name, _dna)) - 1;
        emit NewHamster(id, _name, _dna);

}

function _generateRandomDna(string _str) private returns (uint) {
        uint rand = uint(keccak256(abi.encodePacked(_str)));
        return rand % dnaModulus;
    }

function createRandomZombie(string _name) public {
        uint randDna = _generateRandomDna(_name);
        _createHamster(_name, randDna);
    }
}

I have only a very broad understanding of how to do it. Here’s what I’ve done so far:

contract CryptoZombie = 
    let dnaDigits = 16
    let dnaModulus = 10 % dnaDigits

type Zombie {
        name: string,
        dna: uint
    }

private function create_zombie(new_name:string, new_dna:int) =      

private function generate_random_dna(str:string) =

public function create_random_zombie(name:string) =

So, my questions are:

1. Do Sophia supports modulus operator? Your contract editor shows me an error: “While calling compileContract (body), POST to //sdk-testnet.aepps.com/v2/debug/contracts/code/compile failed with 403: {case_clause,{error,{scan_error,{3,25},”% 16"}}}"
  2. For creating a struct in Sophia, should I use type or ‘record state’? I don’t have a good understanding which one to choose.