How do I create a new account?

Hello,
I’m a software developer. Using the Aeternity node, I want to create a transaction for users on my system. But I couldn’t find a method to create an address for my users in your documentation.

What method will I use to generate a new address in the Node? The HTTP Status 404 occurs when I try the account methods at http://aeternity.com/api-docs/ .

The 404 error also occurs when I perform the operations mentioned at http://aeternity.com/documentation-hub/protocol/node/api/account_api_usage/.

Thanks.

1 Like

You create an account by spending to it. There is no way to create an empty account.

Is there a way to create an address?

you can do that locally by using one of the available SDKs (javascript, python, go, exixir, java)

I wrote an RPC Service and tried to use the Javascript SDK. But when running with Node js, I get the error below.

/home/aeternity/node_modules/@aeternity/aepp-sdk/es/index.js:18
import * as Crypto from './utils/crypto'
       ^

SyntaxError: Unexpected token *
    at Module._compile (internal/modules/cjs/loader.js:720:23)
    at Object.Module._extensions..js (internal/modules/cjs/loader.js:787:10)
    at Module.load (internal/modules/cjs/loader.js:643:32)
    at Function.Module._load (internal/modules/cjs/loader.js:556:12)
    at Module.require (internal/modules/cjs/loader.js:683:19)
    at require (internal/modules/cjs/helpers.js:16:16)
    at Object.<anonymous> (/home/aeternity/dist/controller.js:6:14)
    at Module._compile (internal/modules/cjs/loader.js:776:30)
    at Object.Module._extensions..js (internal/modules/cjs/loader.js:787:10)
    at Module.load (internal/modules/cjs/loader.js:643:32)

What I use to create addresses that I would like to actually use later (ie: create also the private key and have it in an usable format) is aecli tool. You just:

$ aecli account create wallet_filename