LIst (Array) in Sophia

Hello,
I want to use an Array in Sophia programming language, but I realized that Sophia uses list instead. So my question is how do I add an item to the list… here is my code, I don’t know what I’m doing wrong

record state =
	{ owner : address,
      currentPositionId : int,
      positionIdsByAddress: map(address, list(int))}

stateful entrypoint init() : state  =
	{ owner = Call.caller, currentPositionId = 0, positionIdsByAddress = {} }

payable stateful entrypoint depositAE(numDays: int) =
   let newPositionIdsByAddress = state.positionIdsByAddress[Call.caller] ++ [state.currentPositionId]
   put(state{positionIdsByAddress[Call.caller] = newPositionIdsByAddress })

I just want to add an item to the positionIdsByAddress map whenever depositAE function is called. this is my first time coding in Sophia programming language.

Hello @paschal533,

As I understand from your code, you are trying to update the map positionIdsByAddress but it’s not working for you.

You are trying to create a new map newPositionIdsByAddress and then assigning it to the positionIdsByAddress map in the state, which is fine, but there are a couple of issues to note in your code.

1. The way the new map (i.e. newPositionIdsByAddress) is created

By doing state.positionIdsByAddress[Call.caller], you are trying to access the element of the map with the key Call.caller and you are getting an error. In Sophia, no default value is assigned to a key that does not exist in the map, so you will get the error FATE error: Maps: Key does not exist by doing that.

To fix that, we have a special syntax for assigning values to key that you are not sure if it exist: m{ [key = defaultValue] @ oldValue = newValue }, you can read more about this in the docs Features - æternity Sophia Language.

In your case, it will become like this:

let newPositionIdsByAddress = state.positionIdsByAddress{[Call.caller = []] @ positions = positions ++ [state.currentPositionId]}