Visualizing coinbase transaction in the æternity node / Middleware

I had a discussion today with @Kryztoval who was wondering why is it possible for the balance of an AE account to go up without there ever being any transaction associated with it.

For example, the BRI account is constantly increasing in value, but no transactions are associated with that.

Here is what Kryztoval thinks:

If I look at an address, I can’t really tell how is the balance created and recollecting all the transactions i can’t get the balance either… so I can’t do a running balance column :frowning:

Maybe it made sense from a development stand point… and i say maybe because i am a developer and i don’t understand that. But, how do I explain a simple person: Look, this account has magically gathered N coins, because of it’s height and position and looking up at this table we can see that it should be, well, that amount.

Why can’t I just say: Oh! Look, this coin had "N"coins as a block reward on this date. Period!
And if you sort all transactions you will get the current account balance. Of course. Cause every accountant knows that a ledger sum of all ins minus the sum of all outs is the current balance.

It needs to be in the node or in the middleware, the visualization layer is not the best place. @outcrop did a good job making a “mining” tab, that lists all the blocks that account has mined. and then goes to the table we are talking about, STATIC table from SQL and calculates the benefit, but this is all a calculation and if the team or a vote changes it it needs to be updated BY HAND, this is no where optimal or good at all. and it is most definitively not shown on transaction list.

I agree that visualizing these transactions in some way is a good idea (makes sense).

Best,
Vlad

Yeah, the BRI account is a good example, it has no mined blocks, it has no transactions, yet it increases it value. Why? How? where do we see it? how do we query it?